TF Archives

Spank Rock Mixes FabricLive.33

Author: GoldFuZion
Friday, March 16, 2007
Spank Rock has been asked to compile the latest installment in Fabric's live series.

It was only a matter of time until London's legendary Fabric nightclub and imprint would involve the Baltimore crew in their mix-up shenanigans. From what we've heard, the mix has gone more to plan than their recent Australian Big Day Out Tour which saw Spank Rock's frontman never make it past a US airport, let alone the first gig of the tour in New Zealand (see previous TranZfusion news item - Mystery Surrounds MC Spank Rock's No Show For Big Day Out Tour).

Spank Rock consists of Naeem Juwan (MC Spank Rock), Chris Devlin (DJ Chris Rockswell), Alex Epton (Armani XXXchange) and DJ Ronnie Darko,

Their selection includes classics like Kurtis Blow and Tangerine Dream as well as contemporaries and newcomers including CSS, Simian Mobile Disco, Mylo, Daft Punk and the much hyped Bonde do Role.

The resulting mix is a statement that bursts with personality. From the dialogues in the intro and outro (which Alex secretly recorded before their performance on the Jimmy Kimmel show) to their secret sound effects, to their debauched singing to just the quick draw, short attention span-levelling of genres.

Band member Chris Devlin commented that, "…a big part of the aesthetic of our performances and how we roll, as far as making the party, is debauchery and fun. If something's sloppy, you kind of own that a little bit, you know- So we just sort of carried that over into the Fabric mix - we thought 'maybe it would be good to have a little bit of humour in it'. And there's some other stuff - we did a lot of recording, we made a lot of sound effects. For example, there's sounds on there that sound like bombs dropping, which we made by mic'ing the sound of us picking up amplifiers and dropping them. There's little stuff in there that took a while to make, and yeah…there's some stuff in there you gotta check for. It was really fun to make."

Suprisingly, none of their own material appears on the compilation, aside from a Spank Rock remix of Let's Make Love And Listen To Death From Above by the aforementioned CSS.

Spank Rock joins a long line of well-known and diverse individuals to have the honour of compiling a FabricLive, including Diplo, John Peel, Cut Copy, Death in Vegas and Jacques Lu Cont,

When preparing their FabricLive CD, Spank Rock was fully prepared for it to be compared to that of their label mate, Diplo, who are often compared within the same category (mashup, party-style DJing etc). Rather than fighting the inevitable comparisons, they actively embraced it. "I came up with the idea that every person that does a mix after the last person always has to start with the song that the last one ended with. So that last song, the idea was we were gonna put it at the end, so you listen to ours and it ends, and you listen to Diplo's and that's what it kicks off with - so they all have a connection together."

FabricLive.33 will be released as a 33 track mix for the imprint next month on April 16th.

In other Spank Rock news. Ronnie Darko has a brand new website:

01. Intro
02. Kurtis Blow - The Breaks - Universal
03. CSS - Let's Make Love And Listen To Death From Above (Spank Rock Remix) - Sub Pop
04. Mr Oizo - Nazis (Justice Mix) - F Communications
05. Dominatrix - The Dominatrix Sleeps Tonight - Stuart Argabright
06. Yello - Bostich - Universal
07. Zongamin - Bongo Song - XL
08. Kano - I'm Ready - Antibemusic
09. Daft Punk - Technologic - Virgin
10. Switch - A Bit Patchy - Data
11. The Contours - Do You Love Me - Motown
12. Mylo - Drop The Pressure - Breastfed
13. Yes - Owner Of A Lonely Heart - Rhino