TF Archives

LCD Soundsytem's Silver Lining

Author: NewZfusion
Tuesday, March 6, 2007
James Murphy, the man behind the LCD Soundsystem, is back on the air waves with new album Sound of Silver, the follow-up to the massively acclaimed debut, was recorded over the summer of 2006 in upstate New York by Murphy and visitors, including live band members Nancy Whang, Pat Mahoney and Tyler Pope. There, between silver foil-covered walls, nine tracks were crafted into one of the pinnacle albums of 2007.

Sound of Silver finds LCD Soundsystem further expanding its sonic palette, taking its experimental impulses to wild new places but also firmly establishing itself as a singularly great pop group.

Lead single North American Scum is a crushing anthem every bit as potent as its title, while All My Friends opens with percussive, minimalist piano before blooming into soaring harmonics and Us v. Them melds dirty throbbing bass, pitched cowbells, chicken-scratch guitars and a full-on timbale jam of a closer.

For a guy known for his laser-sharp piss-takes, Murphy also treads candid new ground with the devastating loss lament of Someone Great and album-closing piano-bar ode to his hometown, New York I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down.

Taken as a whole, this is the definitive sound of LCD Soundsystem.