TF Archives

Basement Jaxx, Danny Tenaglia and Pet Shop Boys featured on Yoko Ono remix album

Author: GoldFuZion
Monday, March 19, 2007
Following on from her album 'Yes, I Am A Witch,' Yoko Ono, the former wife of assassinated Beatle John Lennon, is set to release 'Open the Box', a remix anthology featuring the Pet Shop Boys, Basement Jaxx and Felix Da Housecat. among others.

The 14-track album is released on April 23rd, and remixes include 'Hell In Paradise', 'Give Peace A Chance', three versions of 'Walking On Thin Ice' and a version of the title track, 'Open the Box'.

Other contributions come from Bimbo Jones, Orange Factory, Danny Tenaglia, DJ Dan, Peter Rauhofer and Superchumbo.

'Yes, I Am A Witch' featured contributions from the likes of Cat Power and The Flaming Lips. Each artist was given Yoko Ono's catalogue to listen to, select a track, and then use the vocals and whatever other elements they chose from the original to produce an entirely new musical track.

While Yoko Ono is regarded by many to be one of the most challenging, influential and significant experimental artists of our age, wait till you hear this album before forming an opinion. Don't expect anything too avant-garde as this remix disc is definitely tailored to the dancefloor.

"I've always encouraged people to put their own ideas, their own action and meaning onto my work. But nobody wanted to help me complete it then," said Ono in as recent interview, discussing the 'Two Virgins' project. "They were too busy focusing on the cover." But the idea of finding completion through the auspice of others stuck. "The music I've made on my own—it's alright," she jokes. "Most people think that I'm a noise that should not be added. But this type of experiment promotes a bigger idea."

Open Your Box Tracklisting:
01 You're the One (Bimbo Jones Main Mix)
02 Everyman Everywoman (Basement Jaxx Classic Mix)
03 Walking on Thin Ice (Felix Da Housecat's Tribute Mix)
04 Hell in Paradise (Peter Rauhofer Reconstruction Mix)
05 Give Me Something (Morel's Pink Noise Vocal Mix)
06 Walking on Thin Ice (Pet Shop Boys Electro Mix)
07 I Don't Know Why (Sapphirecut Mix)
08 Yang Yang (Orange Factory Down & Dirty Mix)
09 Will I (John Creamer & Stephan K Mix)
10 Everyman Everywoman (Murk Space Mix)
11 Kiss Kiss Kiss (Superchumbo Main Mix)
12 Open Your Box (Orange Factory Club Mix)
13 Walking on Thin Ice (Danny Tenaglia Walked Across the Lake Mix)
14 Give Peace a Chance (DJ Dan Vocal Mix)