TF Archives

Baby Doc & S-J: Never A DJ Volume 2

Author: Arriba
Friday, May 31, 2002
Never A DJ Volume 2 is the latest double CD compilation from Baby Doc & S-J and features contributions from Mrs Wood, Commander Tom, Pete Wardman, Malcolm Duffy, Lawrence Malice (Trade), Nu Marc and Len-E.

Rightfully acclaimed as original pioneers of the hard house sound, London production duo Baby Doc and S-J have been touring the world since 2000, playing stadiums from Australia (Sydney Olympic Stadium with Gatecrasher) to Canada (Giants, Ice Hockey Stadium in Vancouver) and the US (alongside Eminem's D12 Crew) They've also been gradually cutting down on their bpms. Never A DJ 2 showcases the new style over the second of two CDS, That Was Then and This Is Now.

"Baby Doc and I wanted to put together the last two years' work onto CD, and also to introduce our new sound to our pre-existing fans," says S-J. "We call it 'sleazy uplifting house'. They'll still get the harder music they're used to but for the same money they'll be getting a brand new CD introducing them to our new sound."

"We liked the music we were making that people like Tony (De Vit) used to play but recently lots of what was labelled hard house started to sound like happy hardcore," says Baby Doc.

Baby Doc wrote his first ever track for Carl Cox's MMR label, going on to define the harder end of trance that Tony De Vit went on to make his own at seminal after hours club Trade, a club where the couple have spent countless Sundays mornings.

"It wasn't just a gay club, it was a gay club filled with stylists, designers, artists, aspiring actors and painters," says S-J of its early days. "It inspired you to go back not just as a clubber but actually to be a part of it."

Trade head honcho Lawrence Malice, Pete Wardman and Malcolm Duffy are just some the characters the duo befriended on Trade's dance floor and it's fitting that all three have co-produced tracks on the latest compilation. Old mate Commander Tom also provides a remix alongside upcoming producers Len-E and Nu Marc as well as Mrs Wood, the pioneer Nu Energy DJ. For Baby Doc and S-J, though, the turntables hold no attractions.

"There are so many DJs out there already," says Quinn. "I'm more interested in making records than playing other peoples'."

CD ONE: THIS IS NOW - Baby Doc & Miss S-J (Genre: Sleazy Uplifting House)

1: Mrs Wood & Baby Doc- "Serendipity"
2: Baby Doc & S-J- Dirty Little Secret
3: Mrs Wood & Baby Doc "Feelya"
4: Baby Doc & S-J- Headspin
5: Baby Doc & S-J- Summertime - Tribal mix
6: Baby Doc & S-J- Space
7: Baby Doc & S-J featuring Nu Marc- Wanna' Get Fierce
8: Baby Doc & S-J- Estrella - Batteria Mix
9: Baby Doc & S-J featuring Lawrence Malice- I'm Only Dancing
10: Len-E- Places of Entertainment (Baby Doc &S-J Remix)
11. Baby Doc & S-J- Breathless (Hard Mix)

Continuous mix by L J Alexander

CD TWO: THAT WAS THEN - Baby Doc & Miss S-J (Genre: Hard Trance)

1: Baby Doc & S-J- Back to Love
2: Baby Doc & S-J-Estrella (Vox Mix)
3: Baby Doc & S-J-Shine
4: Mrs Wood & Baby Doc- Basstone
5: Malcolm Duffy- French Knickers
6: Baby Doc & S-J- Bangers & Mash (Fried Onion Mix)
7: Baby Doc & Pete Wardman- Disco Damnation
8: Baby Doc & S-J- Yorkshire Pudding
9: Baby Doc & S-J- I Need You
10: Baby Doc & S-J- I Got Chucked Out
11: Baby Doc & S-J- Toad in the Hole
12: Baby Doc & S-J- Ploughman's Lunch
13: Baby Doc & S-J- Bangers & Mash
14: Baby Doc & S-J- Bubble & Squeak
15: Baby Doc & S-J- Bangers & Mash (Commander Tom Remix)
16: Baby Doc & Pete Wardman featuring S-J- Hold Me
17: Baby Doc & S-J- Gimme Boy

Continuous mix by LEN-E (for soundclips and to -pre-order the album Click here) <>

Baby Doc & S-J: Never A DJ Volume 2 is out on Euroteck/Arriba Records on May 27 (and is continuously mixed by Len-E.)